Bega Heritage Walk
Bega Heritage Walk, the workings of our town
Discover Bega's industrial and commercial heritage by strolling through our town with this self guided walking tour. It is fascinating to learn about the range of industries that kept our town busy.
View the history of each site by click on one of the following:
Other industries not included on the tour but still of significance include:
Soap factory - operated by Underhill and McNamara. Made good quality soap (sold at Sydney prices!) using beef fat from slaughter yards in Newtown Road.
Lion Boot factory - Owned by Mr Hughes in Church St. Closed down approx. 1911.
Tannery - owned by John Spence in Bega St. in early 1870s. Continued until 1960s and then site developed into a trucking firm, Spenco, which closed in 1980s.
Flour mill - Mr Kirkwood in 1860 built a steam flour mill beside the lagoon in East St., now the south east corner of the Bega Showground.
Blacksmithing - a number in Auckland St., Gipps St., Carp St.
Brewery - built by Sharpe Brothers in 1882 in Auckland St. on site of the Primary Producers building opposite the school. Produced beer until 1900.
Gasworks - 1885. First municipal gas works in the colony. Names of Bega’s Mayor and first aldermen are inscribed on marble tablets at the entrance gates. Two lamps for the gates were made in England at a cost of just over £44.
Cooperage - Mr Shegog in Auckland St., near school.
Rubberworks - Housed in the current Bega Health Foods, after the saddlery moved. Later became a bike shop.
Stafford’s brickworks - William Stafford made bricks opposite the present brickyards at Kalaru late 19th C. Bricks were made on a contract basis on the owner’s property. The kiln would be made out of green bricks and when the kiln was filled up, it would be fired. The fired bricks from inside were taken out and the green bricks on the outside would be turned to be fired on another side with the next firing. At the end of the job the bricks which made up the kiln were sold for a reduced price and often used for paths.
Electric Powerhouse - where the RSL Club now is. Replaced by the Brown Mountain Hydro Scheme.
Bakery - The site of the present day ANZ Bank was the town’s first bakery.
Ziegler’s Monumental Masons - Joseph Ziegler came to Bega from Moruya in 1894 and set up his business in Church St., with a quarry in behind Belmore St. and their last quarry in Tathra Road. His work can be seen in cemeteries throughout the Bega Valley.
Bega Valley Shire Library
Bega Valley Historical Society Inc.
Produced by Linda Albertson (BVSL) and Sandra Florance (BVHS), April 2006.
Sources: Smith, Leila. (1984). The story of Bega – 1883-1900. In Tales of the Far South Coast (Vol. 2, pp. 10-24). Bega: Southern Publishing.
Bayley, W.A. (1942). The story of the settlement and development of Bega. Bega: G.G. Monaghan.
Bega District News Oct./Nov. 1946.
Photographs kindly supplied by Bega Valley Historical Society Inc.
Rate This Page
Share This Page