Bega Valley Shire CouncilBega Valley Shire Council

Citizen of the Year

Community & Leisure / Community Support / Awards

Citizen of the Year

Link to nomination form for citizen of the year.Citizen of the Year and Young Citizen of the Year

Guidelines and Criteria

Each year the people of the Bega Valley Shire are invited to nominate fellow citizens for the NSW Local Citizen of the Year and Young Citizen of the Year Awards. The awards aim to recognise outstanding achievement during the past year and/or contribution to the local community over a number of years.

Award Categories

  • Citizen of the Year Award
    To be eligible, the person must be 26 years or older on 26 January (in the year the award is to be presented).
  • Young Citizen of the Year Award
    To be eligible, the person must be between 16 and 26 years of age on 26 January (in the year the award is to be presented).

Who is Eligible?

  • Nominees must be Australian citizens and residing in the Bega Valley Shire at the time of nomination.
  • Unsuccessful nominees may be re-nominated in subsequent years.
  • Self nominations will not be accepted.
  • Awards will not be granted posthumously.
  • Sitting state and federal politicians and current vice-regal officers are not eligible. Consideration of retired politicians and officers would be for work in addition to their official duties.
  • A person cannot receive a second award in the same Awards category, but can be considered for recognition in a separate category in following years eg. Young Citizen of the Year and then Citizen of the Year.
  • All nominees will be considered for the Citizen of the Year Award.

How to Nominate

To nominate, please complete the nomination form Citizen of the Year. The nomination should detail the nature, duration and impact of the nominee’s contribution to the Bega Valley Shire community.

In assessing a nomination, the assessment panel may consider:

  • the number of hours of work over and above normal employment duties;
  • the benefit to the community from the nominee’s service or contribution;
  • other outstanding achievements by the nominee;
  • other recognition of the nominee’s contribution or work, including publicity;
  • whether the nominee worked as part of a team and their role within the team;
  • whether the nominee has had assistance from council, government or other grants;
  • whether the nominee has had to overcome any particular difficulties or hurdles;
  • who has benefited most from the work of the nominee.


The awards will be presented on Australia Day (26 January) each year at the Shire’s Official Australia Day Ceremony.

The selection of recipients will reflect the nominations received and information available to the Judging Panel at the time.

Bega Valley Shire Council reserves the right to withdraw an award if further information or the recipient’s conduct draws the Local Citizen of the Year Awards into disrepute.


Related Pages

Rate This Page

Share This Page

Explore Our Site